AI-generated
8

Mutia vs. C.F. Sharp Crew Mgt., Inc.

The petition was granted, the CA Decision and Resolution were reversed, and the Labor Arbiter's award of US$100,000.00 in permanent total disability benefits under the CBA plus 10% attorney's fees was reinstated, with 6% legal interest added. Mutia, an assistant cook, was medically repatriated with back, eye, and neurological conditions after respondents stopped paying for his treatment without issuing a final medical assessment, and they defended by invoking Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC on the ground that he had concealed a prior ear illness in his PEME. The SC held that the disqualification applies only where the seafarer suffers from a pre-existing illness as defined by the POEA-SEC, intentionally conceals it, and the concealed illness has a causal or reasonable connection with the illness suffered during the contract. Because Mutia's acute otitis media was neither shown to be a pre-existing illness nor related to his present conditions, the concealment defense failed.

Primary Holding

Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC bars a seafarer's disability claim only if (1) the seafarer suffers from a pre-existing illness or injury as defined under Item 11(b) of the POEA-SEC, (2) the seafarer intentionally concealed that illness or injury, and (3) the concealed pre-existing illness or injury has a causal or reasonable connection with the illness or injury suffered during the contract — it is enough that the concealed illness contributed to the disability.

Background

Mutia was engaged as an assistant cook by C.F. Sharp, a manning agency acting for its foreign principal NCL, to serve aboard the M/V Norwegian Jade under an employment contract governed by a CBA that grants a maximum benefit of US$100,000.00 in case of disability resulting in loss of profession. Seafarers' disability claims are governed by the 2010 POEA-SEC, a POEA memorandum circular incorporated by contract into overseas employment, which fixes the employer's liability for work-related injury or illness during the contract term and, in Section 20(E), disqualifies a seafarer who knowingly conceals a pre-existing illness or condition in the PEME. The case turns on how that disqualification is to be read against the employer's liability under the same contract.

History

2014 – 2018
  1. Jul 9, 2014

    Original Filing

    Complaint filed on July 9, 2014 with the Labor Arbiter for permanent total disability benefits, moral and exemplary damages, and attorney's fees.

  2. 1 yr 3 mos later
  3. Oct 30, 2015

    Labor Arbiter Decision

    Granted the claim for permanent total disability benefits based on the CBA plus attorney's fees, denied moral and exemplary damages, and dropped Juan Jose P. Rocha as respondent absent proof that he was president or an officer of C.F. Sharp.

  4. 2 mos 30 days later
  5. Jan 29, 2016

    NLRC Decision

    Reversed and set aside the LA Decision and dismissed the complaint, holding that Section 20(E) applies to all pre-existing illnesses or conditions with no exception, making it immaterial whether the concealed illness correlates with the disability suffered.

  6. 1 yr 11 mos later
  7. Jan 10, 2018

    CA Decision

    Denied Mutia's petition for certiorari, ruling that Section 20(E) does not distinguish the type of pre-existing condition and that the audiometry results did not negate concealment.

  8. 9 mos 16 days later
  9. Oct 26, 2018

    CA Resolution

    Denied Mutia's motion for reconsideration, stressing that a reasonable person will not sign a document without examining its contents.

  10. SC Action

    Petition for review on certiorari under Rule 45, granted.

Facts

In September 2013, C.F. Sharp hired Loue Mutia as an assistant cook on behalf of its foreign principal NCL, to prepare meals for the passengers and crew of the M/V Norwegian Jade under a contract covered by a CBA granting a maximum benefit of US$100,000.00 for disability resulting in loss of profession. Before boarding, Mutia underwent a PEME. Asked whether he had a previous medical condition, including ear trouble and deafness, Mutia ticked the box "No." His audiometry results nonetheless showed "mild hearing loss, bilateral," as reflected in the PEME, yet he was found fit to work, the attestation stating that the seafarer concerned is not suffering from any medical condition likely to be aggravated by sea service or to render him unfit for such service or to endanger the health of other persons on board.

On October 13, 2013, Mutia was transferring a box containing 50 kilograms of chicken meat onto a trolley when the trolley suddenly moved, forcing him to carry the full weight of the box. He felt a snap on his back, suddenly felt weak, and fell to the floor. He thereafter felt lower back pain and requested an examination, but the request was denied and he was directed to continue his chores. On another occasion, with his back pain unresolved, Mutia accidentally dropped one kilo of chicken seasoning into a pot of boiling corn soup while cooking, and the hot liquid splashed toward his face and eyes. He went off-balance and fell face down on the floor. He was brought to a Slovenian Clinic the following day because he could no longer stand due to severe lower back pain, was administered an intramuscular analgesic, and went back on board.

Because his condition did not improve, Mutia was subsequently brought to a Croatian hospital where he underwent medical examinations. The CT scan of the brain and eye fundus examination yielded normal results, but the doctors suspected a "clear vision disorder." On November 4, 2013, he was repatriated to the Philippines and referred to Shiphealth, Inc. for initial evaluation. His lumbar spine MRI showed "L5-S1 desiccation with annular tear," and he was referred to an orthopedic surgeon and advised to undergo physical therapy and further evaluation. On November 14, 2013, he was admitted to the hospital to examine his eye problem and later discharged after the MRI showed "normal orbits with no intraorbital mass lesion and optic nerve thickening or abnormal enhancements." He was later readmitted for additional examinations and diagnosed with "Multiple Sclerosis" and "Blurring of Vision," undergoing a series of check-ups, examinations, and therapies from December 18, 2013 to March 14, 2014.

Despite the therapies, Mutia still complained of lower back pains, and this continuing complaint prompted the attending physician to request Shiphealth, Inc. for a "Thoracic MRI with Contrast." Mutia underwent the MRI, but the results were not released. Respondents C.F. Sharp and NCL then stopped paying for his treatment. On April 2, 2014, the attending physician issued a medical certificate to enable Mutia to claim disability benefits with the OWWA, stating that he had "a) Disc degeneration, L5-S1; b) Neuromyelitis optica; c) To consider Behçet's disease; and d) s/b Lumbar tap." On April 8, 2014, the OWWA's government physician confirmed that Mutia had "Neuromyelitis optica" and certified his claim for permanent total disability benefits for loss of function of both eyes. On April 24, 2014, Mutia sought the medical opinion of another physician, who found him unfit for duty as a seafarer in whatever capacity due to herniated disc at L5-S1.

On July 9, 2014, Mutia filed a complaint for permanent total disability benefits, moral and exemplary damages, and attorney's fees, claiming that he had been incapacitated from performing his duties for more than 120 days and that the company-designated physician had failed to make a definitive assessment of his medical condition within the allowed period, with the incomplete medical attention justifying his claim for damages. Respondents countered that Mutia was disqualified from claiming permanent total disability benefits because he had materially concealed a pre-existing medical condition in his PEME. They claimed that Mutia had earlier been diagnosed with "[a]cute otitis media with perforated tympanic membrane" and had instituted a claim for disability benefits with his former employer, pointing to his affidavit of quitclaim in favor of that employer, and asserted that Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC therefore applied. The Labor Arbiter found that Mutia's medical conditions were work-related and acquired during his employment, a finding the respondents did not dispute, and that the company-designated physician never issued a final medical assessment.

Arguments of the Petitioners

  • Applicability of Section 20(E): Mutia argued that Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC is not applicable when the concealed illness is unrelated to the present medical condition suffered while onboard the vessel, and that if the provision were applied to unrelated illnesses there would be no material concealment at all.
  • Deemed Notice to the Company Physician: Mutia maintained that the company physician should be deemed notified of his ear illness and the respondents deemed to have taken the attendant risks of employing him, since the PEME itself indicated "mild hearing loss, bilateral."
  • Manner of Accomplishing the PEME: Mutia pointed out that the company physician filled out the PEME and that he merely signed it.

Arguments of the Respondents

  • Material Concealment: Respondents countered that Mutia is disqualified from claiming permanent total disability benefits because he materially concealed a pre-existing medical condition in his PEME, invoking Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC.
  • Causation Not Required: Respondents maintained that a causal connection between the concealed illness and the present medical condition is unnecessary.
  • PEME Not Exploratory: Respondents argued that the PEME is not exploratory and cannot justify Mutia's concealment of his prior ear illness.

Issues

  • Material Concealment: Whether there is material concealment of a pre-existing illness as contemplated by the 2010 POEA-SEC.
  • Applicability of Section 20(E): Whether Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC is applicable because Mutia failed to disclose his prior ear illness (acute otitis media), an illness unrelated to his present claim for disability benefits, in the PEME.

Ruling

  • Material Concealment: No. Acute otitis media was not shown to fall under the POEA-SEC definition of a pre-existing illness, and the employer, which bears the burden of proving concealment, relied only on Mutia's quitclaim affidavit without examining his ear condition.
  • Applicability of Section 20(E): No. Section 20(E) applies only where the concealed pre-existing illness is intentionally concealed and has a causal or reasonable connection with the illness suffered during the contract; Mutia's ear illness was unrelated to his back, eye, and neurological conditions.

Ruling Rationale

  • Material Concealment: The SC began with the definition of terms of the 2010 POEA-SEC, which treats an illness as pre-existing if, prior to the processing of the POEA contract, either (a) the advice of a medical doctor on treatment was given for such continuing illness or condition, or (b) the seafarer had been diagnosed and had knowledge of such illness or condition but failed to disclose the same during the PEME, and such cannot be diagnosed during the PEME. Item 11(a) does not apply because it presupposes that the seafarer is advised to undergo treatment for a continuing illness or condition; the respondents merely pointed to a statement in Mutia's affidavit that he executed a quitclaim in favor of his previous employer, and the specific details of the ear illness — whether it was already healed or needed further treatment — are unclear. Due to insufficient evidence, it is doubtful whether Mutia still had acute otitis media with perforated tympanic membrane when he underwent the PEME and boarded the vessel, and the employer bears the burden to prove the concealment of a pre-existing illness or injury. The respondents did not even examine Mutia's ear condition and relied solely on his affidavit of quitclaim, and the audiometry results indicating "mild hearing loss, bilateral" could not be automatically attributed to the prior ear illness absent any evaluation or expert opinion, especially since the affidavit mentioned "recovery." Even assuming the hearing loss should be attributed to the acute otitis media, Item 11(b) still excludes it because of the phrase "and such cannot be diagnosed during the PEME" — it being undisputed that the audiometry result was not within the normal range and the PEME showed "mild hearing loss, bilateral." The audiometry results should enjoy primacy over Mutia's response that he had no history of ear trouble in determining his fitness to work. While a PEME is not thoroughly exploratory and cannot be expected to reveal all illnesses, a PEME containing a result not within the normal range deserves further evaluation; the respondents could have required additional medical screening of Mutia's ear and determined whether he was still afflicted with acute otitis media if that illness was to be used to defeat his claims, and their failure to do so shows negligence.
  • Applicability of Section 20(E): The SC held that Section 20(E) would still be inapplicable because Mutia's prior ear illness is unrelated to his present medical conditions, there being no proof that the ear condition caused or aggravated the "L5-S1 desiccation with annular tear," "Multiple Sclerosis," "Blurring of Vision," and "Neuromyelitis optica," since the respondents did not issue a final medical assessment and did not even examine Mutia's ear. Reviewing the cases disallowing claims for fraudulent misrepresentation, the SC noted that in each the concealed prior injury or illness was related to the pending claim: in Philman Marine Agency vs. Cabanban the concealed hypertension was the very illness claimed and was not work-related; in Vetyard Terminals & Shipping Services Inc. vs. Suarez the present ailment was caused by the concealed cataract extraction and not by paint droppings on the ship; in Status Maritime Corporation vs. Delalamon the concealed diabetes produced the cardiovascular and renal complications claimed; and in Manansala vs. Marlow Navigations Phils. Inc. the concealed diabetes and hypertension were medically linked to the stroke claimed. Although Section 20(E) does not expressly require that the concealed illness be related to the present illness, the concealment must be fraudulent, and a finding of fraudulent concealment means that a person failed to disclose the truth and that the non-disclosure is deliberate and for a malicious purpose, coupled with an intent to deceive and profit from that deception. Here, the unrelatedness of the prior ear illness and the present conditions negates an intent to profit from the concealment. The CA's reading that Section 20(E) unconditionally bars claims runs contrary to the rest of the POEA-SEC: it must be harmonized with Section 20(A), making the employer liable for work-related injury or illness during the contract term, with Section 1(A)4 requiring the employer to provide a seaworthy ship and take all reasonable precautions to prevent accident and injury to the crew, and with Section 1(A)6 requiring a workplace conducive to the promotion and protection of seafarers' health under Title 4 of the ILO Maritime Labor Convention, 2006, which protects seafarers from the financial consequences of sickness, injury, or death occurring in connection with their employment. Regulation 4.2(5)(c) of that Convention limits the exclusion from shipowner liability to "sickness or infirmity intentionally concealed when the engagement is entered into." The CA's interpretation would lead to an absurd situation where seafarers are disadvantaged and employers are absolved from liability for work-related illness or injury even where they are negligent; the reasonable interpretation is that the employer should not be held liable for disability arising from the concealed illness or injury, consistent with the constitutional policy guaranteeing full protection of labor and the public interest character of the POEA-SEC, which must be construed fairly, reasonably, and liberally in favor of the seafarer. On entitlement, the SC emphasized that the LA found Mutia's medical conditions work-related and acquired during the contract term, a finding the respondents did not dispute and which they met solely with the concealment defense; entitlement to disability benefits is governed by the medical findings, law, and contract, and the POEA-SEC and CBA bind the parties by contract. Mutia was undisputedly medically repatriated during his contract and submitted himself for post-employment examination, was diagnosed with "L5-S1 desiccation with annular tear," "Multiple Sclerosis," "Blurring of Vision," and "Neuromyelitis optica," and the company-designated physician issued no final medical assessment. Following Elburg Shipmanagement Phils. vs. Quiogue, Jr., the company-designated physician must issue a final medical assessment within 120 days from the seafarer's report, failing which — without justifiable reason — the disability becomes permanent and total; and following Razonable vs. Maersk-Filipinas Crewing, Inc., benefits are awarded where no valid assessment is issued within the prescribed periods. The respondents stopped paying for Mutia's treatment without issuing a final medical assessment, and more than 120 days lapsed from his November 4, 2013 repatriation, so his disability is deemed permanent and total as of the filing of the complaint.

Doctrines

  • Section 20(E) Concealment Defense — Three Requisites — The disqualification from "any compensation and benefits" under Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC operates only when all three conditions concur: (1) the seafarer is suffering from a pre-existing illness or injury as defined under Item 11(b) of the 2010 POEA-SEC; (2) the seafarer intentionally concealed the illness or injury; and (3) the concealed pre-existing illness or injury has a causal or reasonable connection with the illness or injury suffered during the seafarer's contract. Under the third condition, it is enough that the concealed illness or injury contributed to the seafarer's disability. Absent these conditions, the employer remains liable for work-related injury or illness consistent with its duties to provide a seaworthy ship and to take precautions against accident, injury, or sickness.
  • Pre-existing Illness under the 2010 POEA-SEC — An illness is pre-existing if, prior to the processing of the POEA contract, either (a) the advice of a medical doctor on treatment was given for such continuing illness or condition, or (b) the seafarer had been diagnosed and had knowledge of such illness or condition but failed to disclose the same during the PEME, and such cannot be diagnosed during the PEME. Item 11(a) presupposes an advice to undergo treatment for a continuing illness; Item 11(b) excludes conditions that the PEME can in fact detect. Mutia's acute otitis media fell under neither limb.
  • Fraudulent Concealment — A finding of fraudulent concealment requires that a person failed to disclose the truth and that the non-disclosure is deliberate and for a malicious purpose, coupled with an intent to deceive and to profit from that deception. The unrelatedness of the concealed illness to the present medical condition negates an intent to profit from the concealment.
  • Employer's Burden to Prove Concealment — The employer bears the burden of proving the concealment of a pre-existing illness or injury. Failure to examine the seafarer's condition or to adduce expert evaluation leaves the defense unsupported.
  • Primacy of Audiometry Results over PEME Questionnaire Answers — Where the PEME itself contains a result outside the normal range, that objective result enjoys primacy over the seafarer's negative answer in the questionnaire in determining fitness to work, and it obliges the employer to require further medical screening if the condition is to be used to defeat the claim.
  • 120-Day Rule and Deemed Total and Permanent Disability — The company-designated physician must issue a final medical assessment on the seafarer's disability grading within 120 days from the time the seafarer reported to him; if he fails to do so without justifiable reason, the seafarer's disability becomes permanent and total. The 120 days are reckoned from the date of repatriation for medical treatment, and the law already considers the disability total and permanent absent a valid assessment.
  • Liberal Construction of the POEA-SEC — The POEA-SEC is imbued with public interest and its provisions must be construed fairly, reasonably, and liberally in favor of the seafarer, consistent with the constitutional policy of full protection to labor. An interpretation that absolves employers from liability for work-related illness even where they are negligent produces an absurd result and must be rejected.

Key Excerpts

  • "A seafarer who knowingly conceals a pre-existing illness or condition in the Pre-Employment Medical Examination (PEME) shall be liable for misrepresentation and shall be disqualified from any compensation and benefits." — The text of Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC, the provision whose scope the decision had to construe.
  • "In sum, Section 20(E) of the 2010 POEA-SEC is applicable if the following conditions are met: (1) the seafarer is suffering from a pre-existing illness or injury as defined under Item 11 (b) of the 2010 POEA-SEC, (2) the seafarer intentionally concealed the illness or injury, (3) the concealed pre-existing illness or injury has a causal or reasonable connection with the illness or injury suffered during the seafarer's contract." — The canonical statement of the three-part test, the highest-yield formulation in the case.
  • "A finding of fraudulent concealment means that a person failed to disclose the truth and that the non-disclosure is deliberate and for a malicious purpose." — Defines the mens rea element that the CA's reading of Section 20(E) had dispensed with.
  • "The reasonable interpretation of Section 20(E) is that the employer should not be held liable for disability arising from the concealed illness or injury." — States the narrowing construction adopted, tying the disqualification to the disability caused by the concealed condition.

Precedents Cited

  • Elburg Shipmanagement Phils. vs. Quiogue, Jr., 765 Phil. 341 (2015) — Controlling precedent; supplied the rule that the company-designated physician must issue a final assessment within 120 days, failing which the disability becomes permanent and total.
  • Razonable vs. Maersk-Filipinas Crewing, Inc., G.R. No. 241674, June 10, 2020 — Followed; permanent total disability benefits awarded where the company-designated physicians failed to issue a valid medical assessment within the prescribed periods.
  • Philman Marine Agency vs. Cabanban, 715 Phil. 454 (2013) — Distinguished; the concealed hypertension was the very illness claimed and was not work-related.
  • Vetyard Terminals & Shipping Services Inc. vs. Suarez, 728 Phil. 527 (2014) — Distinguished; the concealed cataract operation was causally related to the present ailment, which was caused by the cataract extraction rather than by paint droppings on the ship.
  • Status Maritime Corporation vs. Delalamon, 740 Phil. 175 (2014) — Distinguished; the concealed diabetes produced the cardiovascular and renal complications claimed, so the concealed illness contributed to the disability.
  • Manansala vs. Marlow Navigations Phils. Inc., 817 Phil. 84 (2017) — Distinguished; the concealed diabetes and hypertension were medically linked to the stroke claimed, and the case was also cited for the requisites of Section 20(E).
  • Deocariza vs. Fleet Management Services Philippines, Inc., 836 Phil. 1087 (2018) — Cited for the rule that the employer bears the burden of proving concealment of a pre-existing illness or injury.
  • Nacar vs. Gallery Frames, 716 Phil. 267 (2013) — Applied to impose 6% legal interest on the monetary awards until full payment.

Provisions

  • Section 20(E), 2010 POEA-SEC — Disqualifies a seafarer who knowingly conceals a pre-existing illness or condition in the PEME from any compensation and benefits; construed by the SC to require a pre-existing illness under Item 11, intentional concealment, and a causal or reasonable connection to the illness suffered during the contract.
  • Section 20(A), 2010 POEA-SEC — Makes the employer liable when the seafarer suffers a work-related injury or illness during the contract term and imposes reciprocal obligations to arrive at a definitive medical assessment; used to harmonize Section 20(E), since the employer remains liable absent the three concealment requisites.
  • Item 11, Definition of Terms, 2010 POEA-SEC — Defines a pre-existing illness by two alternative conditions (prior medical advice on treatment for a continuing illness; or prior diagnosis and knowledge with non-disclosure during the PEME where the condition cannot be diagnosed during the PEME); applied to exclude Mutia's acute otitis media.
  • Sections 1(A)4 and 1(A)6, 2010 POEA-SEC — Require the principal or employer to provide a seaworthy ship, take all reasonable precautions to prevent accident and injury to the crew, and provide a workplace conducive to the protection of seafarers' health under Title 4 of the ILO Maritime Labor Convention, 2006; cited to show that the employer's liability survives an overbroad reading of Section 20(E).
  • Regulation 4.2(5)(c), Title 4, Maritime Labour Convention, 2006 — Permits exclusion of shipowner liability only for "sickness or infirmity intentionally concealed when the engagement is entered into"; used as the international benchmark limiting the disqualification to intentional concealment.
  • Article XIII, Section 3, 1987 Constitution — Guarantees full protection to labor; invoked to justify the liberal construction of the POEA-SEC in favor of the seafarer.
  • Rule 45, Revised Rules of Court — The procedural vehicle for the petition for review on certiorari questioning the CA Decision and Resolution.