Primary Holding
An "other insurance" clause in a fire insurance policy applies only to double insurance, which requires the same subject matter, the same insurable interest, and the same risk; since a mortgagor and a mortgagee have distinct and separate insurable interests in the mortgaged property, a policy obtained by the mortgagee does not constitute "other insurance" that must be disclosed by the mortgagor.
Background
Petitioner Armando Geagonia owned Norman's Mart, a dry goods store in the public market of San Francisco, Agusan del Sur. On December 22, 1989, he obtained a fire insurance policy from private respondent Country Bankers Insurance Corporation for ₱100,000.00 covering his stock-in-trade, declaring Mercantile Insurance Co., Inc. as a co-insurer for ₱50,000.00. The policy contained an "other insurance" clause (Condition 3) requiring disclosure of any other insurance covering the property, with a proviso that the condition would not apply if the total insurance in force at the time of loss did not exceed ₱200,000.00. Prior to this, two fire insurance policies for ₱100,000.00 each had been issued by the Cebu Branch of Philippines First Insurance Co., Inc. (PFIC) covering the same stock-in-trade, naming Geagonia as the assured and Cebu Tesing Textiles, his creditor, as the mortgagee.
History
1993 – 1995-
Jun 21, 1993
Insurance Commission
Awarded the claim of petitioner, finding that he had no knowledge of the prior PFIC policies and that Cebu Tesing Textiles procured them without his consent.
-
1 mo 30 days later
-
Aug 20, 1993
Insurance Commission
Denied private respondent's motion for reconsideration.
-
4 mos 9 days later
-
Dec 29, 1993
Court of Appeals
Reversed the Insurance Commission, finding that petitioner knew of the prior policies based on his letter dated January 18, 1991, and thus violated Condition 3.
-
1 yr 1 mo later
-
Feb 6, 1995
Supreme Court
Granted the petition, set aside the Court of Appeals' decision, and reinstated the Insurance Commission's decision.
Facts
Armando Geagonia, the owner of Norman's Mart in San Francisco, Agusan del Sur, obtained Fire Insurance Policy No. F-14622 from Country Bankers Insurance Corporation on December 22, 1989, for ₱100,000.00 covering his stock-in-trade. The policy, valid until December 22, 1990, declared Mercantile Insurance Co., Inc. as a co-insurer for ₱50,000.00. At the time, Geagonia had inventory stocks amounting to ₱392,130.50, a portion of which was obtained on credit from Cebu Tesing Textiles. Unbeknownst to Country Bankers, two prior fire insurance policies (No. GA-28146 and No. GA-28144) for ₱100,000.00 each had already been issued by the Cebu Branch of Philippines First Insurance Co., Inc. (PFIC). These PFIC policies named "Discount Mart (Mr. Armando Geagonia, Prop.)" as the assured and contained a mortgage clause making losses payable to Cebu Tesing Textiles as their interest appeared. The premiums for these policies were paid by Geagonia.
On May 27, 1990, a fire of accidental origin destroyed the public market, including Geagonia's insured stock-in-trade. He filed a claim with Country Bankers, which was denied on December 28, 1990, on the ground that Geagonia had violated Condition 3 of the policy—the "other insurance" clause—by failing to disclose the two existing PFIC policies. Geagonia sought reconsideration via a letter dated January 18, 1991, admitting he knew of the PFIC policies when he obtained Country Bankers' policy but claiming ignorance of the disclosure requirement. He asserted that the total claims under the three policies were below the actual value of his stocks, which he estimated at ₱1,000,000.00.
Geagonia then filed a complaint with the Insurance Commission for recovery of the ₱100,000.00 claim, attorney's fees, and costs. The Insurance Commission ruled in his favor, finding that Cebu Tesing Textiles had procured the PFIC policies without his knowledge. Country Bankers appealed to the Court of Appeals, which reversed the Insurance Commission. The appellate court found that Geagonia knew of the prior policies, citing his January 18, 1991 letter and the premium invoices indicating he paid the premiums. The Court of Appeals held that Geagonia violated Condition 3 by failing to disclose the other insurances.
Arguments of the Petitioners
- Grave Abuse of Discretion: Petitioner argued that the Court of Appeals acted with grave abuse of discretion amounting to lack or excess of jurisdiction in reversing the factual findings of the Insurance Commission, a quasi-judicial body whose decisions are accorded respect and finality by the courts.
- Consideration of Evidence Not Presented: Petitioner contended that the Court of Appeals erred in considering his January 18, 1991 letter as evidence because it was not presented as evidence during the hearing or trial.
- Dismissal of Claim: Petitioner argued that the Court of Appeals erred in dismissing his claim against the private respondent.
Arguments of the Respondents
- Violation of Condition 3: Respondent argued that petitioner violated Condition 3 of the policy by failing to disclose the existence of the two prior fire insurance policies issued by PFIC covering the same property.
Issues
- Knowledge of Prior Policies: Whether the petitioner had prior knowledge of the two insurance policies issued by PFIC when he obtained the fire insurance policy from the private respondent, thereby violating Condition 3 for not disclosing such fact.
- Right to Recover: Whether the petitioner is precluded from recovering under the policy if he had knowledge of the prior policies.
- Admissibility of Evidence: Whether the Court of Appeals erred in considering the petitioner's January 18, 1991 letter as evidence despite it not being formally offered.
Ruling
- Knowledge of Prior Policies: Yes. The petitioner knew of the prior policies issued by PFIC, as conclusively proven by his written admission in his January 18, 1991 letter, which contradicted his testimony before the Insurance Commission.
- Right to Recover: No. The petitioner is not precluded from recovering. Condition 3 applies only to double insurance, which requires the same subject and the same insurable interest. The PFIC policies covered the mortgagee's distinct insurable interest, not the mortgagor's.
- Admissibility of Evidence: No error. The letter was attached to the complaint as an integral part and constituted a judicial admission, binding on the petitioner even if not formally offered as independent evidence.
Ruling Rationale
- Knowledge of Prior Policies: The Court agreed with the Court of Appeals that Geagonia knew of the prior policies. His testimony before the Insurance Commission claiming lack of knowledge could not prevail over his written admission in the January 18, 1991 letter, which was made ante litem motam. It was also incredible that he did not know, as the PFIC policies were renewals of previous policies.
- Right to Recover: Condition 3 is a valid "other insurance" clause intended to prevent over-insurance and moral hazard. However, to constitute a violation, the other insurance must be upon the same subject matter, the same insurable interest, and the same risk. A mortgagor and a mortgagee have distinct and separate insurable interests in the mortgaged property. The PFIC policies were obtained by the mortgagee (Cebu Tesing Textiles) with a simple loss payable clause, covering the mortgagee's interest. Since the PFIC policies did not cover the same insurable interest as Country Bankers' policy (which covered the mortgagor's interest), no double insurance existed. Furthermore, Condition 3 expressly provided that it shall not apply if the total insurance in force does not exceed ₱200,000.00, indicating the insurer was amenable to assuming liability up to that amount to discourage over-insurance. Construed strictly against the insurer and liberally in favor of the insured, the clause did not bar recovery.
- Admissibility of Evidence: The January 18, 1991 letter was attached to the complaint as Annex "M" and made an integral part thereof. It attained the status of a judicial admission, and since its due execution and authenticity were not denied, the petitioner was bound by it even if it were not introduced as independent evidence.
Doctrines
- Double Insurance — Exists where the same person is insured by several insurers separately in respect of the same subject and interest. The insurable interests of a mortgagor and a mortgagee on the mortgaged property are distinct and separate; thus, separate insurances covering these different interests do not constitute double insurance.
- Other Insurance Clause — A condition in fire insurance policies intended to prevent an increase in the moral hazard and over-insurance. To constitute a violation, the other insurance must be upon the same subject matter, the same interest therein, and the same risk. If the other policy covers a different insurable interest (e.g., that of a mortgagee), non-disclosure is not fatal.
- Contra Proferentem in Insurance Contracts — A policy or insurance contract is to be interpreted liberally in favor of the insured and strictly against the company. Forfeitures are not favored, and provisions that tend to work a forfeiture should be construed most strictly against those for whose benefits they are inserted.
Key Excerpts
- "However, in order to constitute a violation, the other insurance must be upon same subject matter, the same interest therein, and the same risk." — This defines the requisite elements for a violation of an "other insurance" clause, establishing that distinct insurable interests preclude a finding of double insurance.
- "A double insurance exists where the same person is insured by several insurers separately in respect of the same subject and interest. As earlier stated, the insurable interests of a mortgagor and a mortgagee on the mortgaged property are distinct and separate." — This clarifies the nature of double insurance and the separate insurable interests of mortgagor and mortgagee, which was the decisive factor in allowing recovery.
- "It is a cardinal rule on insurance that a policy or insurance contract is to be interpreted liberally in favor of the insured and strictly against the company, the reason being, undoubtedly, to afford the greatest protection which the insured was endeavoring to secure when he applied for insurance." — This articulates the fundamental principle of insurance contract interpretation relied upon to construe the ambiguous "other insurance" clause against the insurer.
Precedents Cited
- General Insurance and Surety Corp. vs. Ng Hua — Cited as a precedent involving an "other insurance" clause, but distinguished because the clause in that case absolutely declared the policy void upon violation, unlike Condition 3 in the present case which had a monetary exception.
- Pioneer Insurance & Surety Corp. vs. Yap — Similarly cited and distinguished for the absolute forfeiture language in its "other insurance" clause.
- Santa Ana vs. Commercial Union Assurance Co. — Distinguished because its "other insurance" clause provided that the policy would be null and void without declaration of outstanding insurance, unlike the qualified Condition 3.
- Philippine Bank of Communications vs. Court of Appeals — Cited for the proposition that a document attached to a pleading and made an integral part thereof attains the status of a judicial admission binding on the party.
Provisions
- Section 75, Insurance Code (P.D. No. 1460) — Provides that a policy may declare that a violation of specified provisions thereof shall avoid it, otherwise the breach of an immaterial provision does not avoid the policy. This validated the inclusion of Condition 3 in the fire insurance policy.
- Section 50, Insurance Code — Referenced within Condition 3 of the policy regarding the endorsement of particulars of other insurances.
Notable Concurring Opinions
Padilla, Bellosillo, Quiason, and Kapunan, JJ., concur.