AI-generated

Famanila vs. Court of Appeals

The petition was denied, and the Court of Appeals' decision affirming the NLRC's dismissal of petitioner's complaint for disability benefits was upheld. Petitioner, a seafarer who suffered a cerebral hemorrhage while on duty, was declared permanently and totally disabled and subsequently signed a Receipt and Release accepting US$13,200 in settlement of all claims. The Court ruled that vitiated consent renders a contract voidable—not void—and that disability is not among the recognized vices of consent under the Civil Code; absent proof of fraud, intimidation, or undue influence, the quitclaim was valid and binding. The Court further held that the three-year prescriptive period under Article 291 of the Labor Code applies to money claims arising from employer-employee relations, and since more than three years had elapsed from the accrual of petitioner's cause of action to the filing of his complaint, his claim was barred.

Primary Holding

A quitclaim or Receipt and Release is valid and binding where it was voluntarily executed with full understanding of its terms and supported by reasonable consideration; disability alone does not vitiate consent, and the three-year prescriptive period under Article 291 of the Labor Code governs all money claims arising from employer-employee relations.

Background

Petitioner Roberto G. Famanila was hired in 1989 by respondent NFD International Manning Agents, Inc. as Messman aboard the vessel Hansa Riga, which was registered and owned by its principal and co-respondent, Barbership Management Limited. The relationship between the parties was that of an overseas seafarer deployed through a manning agent for a foreign vessel owner, a arrangement governed by Philippine labor laws and the standard protections afforded to maritime workers. The dispute arose from petitioner's claim for disability benefits following an illness suffered during his employment, which was settled through a Receipt and Release that petitioner later sought to invalidate.

History

1997 – 2006
  1. Sep 29, 1997

    NLRC (Labor Arbiter)

    Dismissed petitioner's complaint for disability benefits on the ground of prescription.

  2. 6 mos 2 days later
  3. Mar 31, 1998

    NLRC (En Banc)

    Dismissed petitioner's appeal for lack of merit; motion for reconsideration denied on June 29, 1998.

  4. 8 mos 1 day later
  5. Dec 2, 1998

    Supreme Court

    Referred the case to the Court of Appeals pursuant to St. Martin Funeral Home vs. NLRC.

  6. 2 yrs 3 mos later
  7. Mar 30, 2001

    Court of Appeals

    Dismissed the petition for lack of merit; motion for reconsideration denied on October 5, 2001.

  8. 5 yrs 4 mos later
  9. Aug 29, 2006

    Supreme Court

    Denied the petition for review on certiorari and affirmed the Court of Appeals' decision.

Facts

In 1989, respondent NFD International Manning Agents, Inc. hired petitioner Roberto G. Famanila as Messman aboard Hansa Riga, a vessel registered and owned by its principal and co-respondent, Barbership Management Limited. On June 21, 1990, while Hansa Riga was docked at the port of Eureka, California, and while petitioner was assisting in loading operations, he complained of a headache, experienced dizziness, and subsequently collapsed. Upon examination, it was determined that he had suffered a sudden attack of left cerebral hemorrhage from a ruptured cerebral aneurysm.

Petitioner underwent a brain operation and was confined at the Emmanuel Hospital in Portland, Oregon. On July 19, 1990, he underwent a second brain operation. Owing to his physical and mental condition, he was repatriated to the Philippines. On August 21, 1990, he was examined at the American Hospital in Intramuros, Manila, where the examining physician, Dr. Patricia Abesamis, declared that he "cannot go back to sea duty and has been observed for 120 days, he is being declared permanently, totally disabled."

Thereafter, authorized representatives of the respondents convinced petitioner to settle his claim amicably by accepting the amount of US$13,200. Petitioner accepted the offer, as evidenced by his signature in the Receipt and Release dated February 28, 1991. His wife, Gloria Famanila, and one Richard Famanila acted as witnesses to the signing of the release. The Receipt and Release, couched in clear and comprehensive terms, discharged the vessel, its owners, operators, managers, agents, and all parties from any and all claims arising from or related to the illness petitioner suffered on board Hansa Riga, including disability compensation.

On June 11, 1997, petitioner filed a complaint with the NLRC, docketed as NLRC OCW Case No. 6-838-97-L, praying for an award of disability benefits, share in insurance proceeds, moral damages, and attorney's fees. The complaint was dismissed by Acting Executive Labor Arbiter Voltaire A. Balitaan on September 29, 1997, on the ground of prescription. The NLRC affirmed the dismissal on March 31, 1998, and denied reconsideration on June 29, 1998. The case was referred to the Court of Appeals, which dismissed the petition on March 30, 2001, and denied reconsideration on October 5, 2001, prompting the present petition.

Arguments of the Petitioners

  • Vitiated Consent: Petitioner argued that he did not sign the Receipt and Release voluntarily or freely because he was permanently disabled and in financial constraints, factors which allegedly vitiated his consent and rendered the Receipt and Release void and unenforceable.
  • Prescription Period: Petitioner contended that the Court of Appeals erred in holding that the applicable prescriptive period was the three-year period under the Labor Code rather than the ten-year period under the Civil Code.

Issues

  • Validity of the Receipt and Release: Whether the Court of Appeals committed grave abuse of discretion in upholding the validity of the Receipt and Release, given petitioner's claim that his consent thereto was vitiated, thereby making the same void and unenforceable.
  • Prescription Period: Whether the Court of Appeals committed grave abuse of discretion in holding that the applicable prescriptive period is the three-year period under the Labor Code and not the ten-year period under the Civil Code.

Ruling

  • Validity of the Receipt and Release: No. The Receipt and Release was valid and binding, petitioner's consent not having been vitiated by any of the recognized vices of consent under the Civil Code, and the quitclaim having been voluntarily executed with reasonable consideration.
  • Prescription Period: No. The three-year prescriptive period under Article 291 of the Labor Code governs money claims arising from employer-employee relations, and more than three years had elapsed from the accrual of petitioner's cause of action to the filing of his complaint.

Ruling Rationale

  • Validity of the Receipt and Release: A vitiated consent does not render a contract void and unenforceable; it merely gives rise to a voidable agreement. Under Article 1330 of the Civil Code, the vices of consent are mistake, violence, intimidation, undue influence, or fraud. A voidable contract is binding unless annulled by a proper action in court (Article 1390, Civil Code). Petitioner contended that his permanent and total disability vitiated his consent, but disability is not among the factors that may vitiate consent. Moreover, save for petitioner's self-serving allegations, there was no proof on record that his consent was vitiated on account of his disability. The Court of Appeals correctly observed that even if petitioner had not fully recovered his health at the time of signing, this alone did not lead to the conclusion that he did not voluntarily accept the agreement, as his wife and another relative witnessed the signing. The document did not show on its face any violation of law or public policy, and petitioner presented no proof that the consideration was unreasonable. While quitclaims and waivers are generally frowned upon because employer and employee do not stand on the same footing, not all waivers are invalid. Where the agreement was voluntarily entered into, represents a reasonable settlement, and the person making the waiver did so with full understanding of what he was doing and the consideration is credible and reasonable, the transaction must be recognized as valid and binding. The Receipt and Release was clear and unambiguous, couched in unequivocal terms, and the signing was witnessed by petitioner's wife and a relative. Dire necessity is not an acceptable ground for annulling the release absent proof that petitioner was forced to sign it.

  • Prescription Period: The applicable prescriptive period for money claims against respondents is the three-year period under Article 291 of the Labor Code, which provides that all money claims arising from employer-employee relations accruing during the effectivity of the Code shall be filed within three years from the time the cause of action accrued; otherwise they shall be forever barred. Petitioner's demand for disability benefits is a money claim arising from his employment, and thus Article 291 applies. From the time petitioner was declared permanently and totally disabled on August 21, 1990—which gave rise to his entitlement to disability benefits—up to the time he filed the complaint on June 11, 1997, more than three years had elapsed, effectively barring his claim.

Doctrines

  • Validity of Quitclaims and Waivers — Quitclaims and waivers are generally frowned upon because employer and employee do not stand on the same footing, and acceptance of benefits does not amount to estoppel. However, not all waivers and quitclaims are invalid. A quitclaim is valid and binding where the agreement was voluntarily entered into, represents a reasonable settlement, the person making the waiver did so with full understanding of what he was doing, and the consideration is credible and reasonable. It is only where there is clear proof that the waiver was wangled from an unsuspecting or gullible person, or the terms of the settlement are unconscionable on their face, that the law will step in to annul the transaction. In this case, the Receipt and Release was upheld as valid because petitioner signed it voluntarily, the terms were clear and unambiguous, the signing was witnessed by his wife and a relative, and the consideration of US$13,200 was not shown to be unreasonable.

  • Vices of Consent and Voidable Contracts — Under Article 1330 of the Civil Code, the vices of consent are mistake, violence, intimidation, undue influence, or fraud. If consent is given through any of these vices, the contract is voidable, not void. A voidable contract is binding unless annulled by a proper action in court. Disability or financial constraint is not among the recognized vices of consent and cannot, by itself, vitiate consent to a contract.

  • Prescription of Labor Money Claims — Under Article 291 of the Labor Code, all money claims arising from employer-employee relations must be filed within three years from the time the cause of action accrues; otherwise they are forever barred. This three-year period, not the ten-year period under the Civil Code, governs claims for disability benefits arising from employment.

Key Excerpts

  • "A vitiated consent does not make a contract void and unenforceable. A vitiated consent only gives rise to a voidable agreement." — This passage articulates the distinction between void and voidable contracts based on vitiated consent, a principle central to the Court's rejection of petitioner's argument that the Receipt and Release was void.

  • "However, not all waivers and quitclaims are invalid as against public policy. If the agreement was voluntarily entered into and represents a reasonable settlement, it is binding on the parties and may not later be disowned simply because of change of mind." — This is the canonical formulation of the doctrine on validity of quitclaims, frequently cited in subsequent labor jurisprudence to distinguish valid from invalid waivers.

  • "It is only where there is clear proof that the waiver was wangled from an unsuspecting or gullible person, or the terms of the settlement are unconscionable on its face, that the law will step in to annul the questionable transaction. But where it is shown that the person making the waiver did so voluntarily, with full understanding of what he was doing, and the consideration for the quitclaim is credible and reasonable, the transaction must be recognized as a valid and binding undertaking." — This passage sets out the two-pronged test for validity of quitclaims: voluntariness with full understanding, and reasonable consideration, and is the most commonly quoted formulation in Philippine labor law.

Precedents Cited

  • Periquet vs. NLRC, G.R. No. 91298, June 22, 1990, 186 SCRA 724 — Followed. Established the doctrine that quitclaims are valid where voluntarily entered into with reasonable consideration, cited as the controlling authority for upholding the Receipt and Release.
  • Galicia vs. NLRC, G.R. No. 119649, July 28, 1997, 276 SCRA 381 — Cited for the proposition that quitclaims and waivers are oftentimes frowned upon and that acceptance of benefits does not amount to estoppel, providing the counterpoint to the rule validating reasonable settlements.
  • Lopez Sugar Corporation vs. Federation of Free Workers, G.R. Nos. 75700-01, August 30, 1990, 189 SCRA 179 — Cited for the principle that employer and employee do not stand on the same footing, justifying judicial scrutiny of quitclaims.
  • St. Martin Funeral Home vs. NLRC, G.R. No. 130866, September 16, 1998, 295 SCRA 494 — Procedural authority for referring petitions for certiorari from NLRC decisions to the Court of Appeals rather than directly to the Supreme Court.
  • Skippers United Pacific, Inc. vs. NLRC, G.R. No. 148893, July 12, 2006 — Cited for the doctrine that factual findings of labor tribunals affirmed by the Court of Appeals are accorded great respect, finality, and are binding on the Supreme Court when supported by substantial evidence.

Provisions

  • Article 291, Labor Code — Governs the prescriptive period for money claims arising from employer-employee relations, requiring filing within three years from accrual of the cause of action. Applied to bar petitioner's disability claim, as more than three years elapsed from August 21, 1990 (date of declaration of permanent total disability) to June 11, 1997 (date of filing the complaint).
  • Article 1330, Civil Code — Defines the vices of consent as mistake, violence, intimidation, undue influence, or fraud. Applied to reject petitioner's claim that his disability vitiated consent, since disability is not among the enumerated vices.
  • Article 1390, Civil Code — Provides that voidable contracts are binding unless annulled by proper court action. Applied to clarify that even if consent were vitiated, the contract would be voidable—not void—and thus binding until annulled.
  • Article 1315, Civil Code — States that a contract is perfected by mere consent and from that moment the parties are bound to the fulfillment of what has been expressly stipulated and to all consequences in keeping with good faith, usage, and law. Applied to uphold the binding effect of the Receipt and Release.

Notable Concurring Opinions

Panganiban, C.J. (Chairperson), Austria-Martinez, Callejo, Sr., and Chico-Nazario, JJ., concurred.