AI-generated

Eternal Gardens Memorial Park Corporation vs. Philippine American Life Insurance Company

The petition was granted, reversing the Court of Appeals and reinstating with modifications the trial court's decision ordering Philamlife to pay Eternal Gardens the insurance proceeds for the death of lot purchaser John Chuang. The central issue was whether Philamlife's inaction on Chuang's insurance application could be considered approval of the application, and whether coverage existed despite the insurer's failure to act. The Court found that Eternal had indeed submitted Chuang's application before his death, as evidenced by Philamlife's own stamp of receipt on the transmittal letter, and that the ambiguous policy provision on the effective date of benefit must be construed against the insurer as a contract of adhesion. The insurer's inaction could not operate to terminate coverage, and the insurer was bound to honor the application as a valid and effective insurance contract.

Primary Holding

An insurer's inaction on an insurance application cannot prejudice the insured; where the policy provision on the effective date of coverage is ambiguous, it must be construed liberally in favor of the insured and strictly against the insurer, and the insurer's failure to explicitly disapprove the application results in the insurance contract being valid, binding, and effective.

Background

Eternal Gardens Memorial Park Corporation and Philippine American Life Insurance Company (Philamlife) entered into Creditor Group Life Policy No. P-1920 on December 10, 1980, under which Philamlife would insure Eternal's clients who purchased burial lots on installment basis, with coverage equivalent to the unpaid balance of the purchased lots. The policy was effective for one year and renewable yearly. Under the policy's "Evidence of Insurability" provision, a declaration of good health was required for all lot purchasers as part of the application, and the insurer reserved the right to require further evidence of insurability for amounts exceeding ₱50,000 or for purchasers over 55 years of age. The "Effective Date of Benefit" provision stated that insurance of any eligible lot purchaser would be effective on the date he contracted a loan with the assured, but that there would be no insurance if the application was not approved by the company.

History

1996 – 2008
  1. Eternal filed a case for sum of money against Philamlife before the Makati City RTC, docketed as Civil Case No. 14736.

  2. May 29, 1996

    RTC

    Decided in favor of Eternal, ordering Philamlife to pay ₱100,000 representing policy proceeds plus legal interest and ₱10,000 attorney's fees, finding that Philamlife was deemed to have approved Chuang's application due to its inaction and acceptance of premiums.

  3. 8 yrs 5 mos later
  4. Nov 26, 2004

    CA

    Reversed and set aside the RTC decision, dismissing the complaint, finding that Chuang's application was not enclosed in Eternal's December 29, 1982 letter and that the non-accomplishment of the application form violated Section 26 of the Insurance Code.

  5. 3 yrs 4 mos later
  6. Apr 9, 2008

    Supreme Court

    Granted the petition, reversed the CA decision, and modified the RTC decision in favor of Eternal.

Facts

On December 10, 1980, respondent Philippine American Life Insurance Company (Philamlife) entered into Creditor Group Life Policy No. P-1920 with petitioner Eternal Gardens Memorial Park Corporation (Eternal). Under the policy, clients of Eternal who purchased burial lots on installment basis would be insured by Philamlife, with the amount of coverage depending on the existing unpaid balance of the purchased lots. The policy was effective for one year, renewable yearly. Eternal was required to submit to Philamlife a list of all new lot purchasers, together with a copy of each purchaser's application and the amounts of the respective unpaid balances of all insured lot purchasers.

In compliance with this requirement, Eternal submitted a letter dated December 29, 1982, containing a list of insurable balances of its lot buyers for October 1982. One of those included in the list as "new business" was John Chuang, whose balance of payments was ₱100,000. The letter bore a notation at the bottom stating that the corresponding "Phil-Am Life Insurance Application Forms & Cert." were enclosed, and Philamlife stamped the letter as received. On August 2, 1984, Chuang died. Eternal sent a letter dated August 20, 1984 to Philamlife, serving as an insurance claim for Chuang's death, accompanied by Chuang's Certificate of Death, Identification Certificate, Certificate of Claimant, Certificate of Attending Physician, and Assured's Certificate.

Philamlife replied on November 12, 1984, requiring Eternal to submit additional documents, including the Application for Insurance accomplished and signed by Chuang while still living, and a Statement of Account showing Chuang's unpaid balance before his death. Eternal transmitted the required documents through a letter dated November 14, 1984, which Philamlife received on November 15, 1984. After more than a year without any reply from Philamlife, Eternal demanded payment of the ₱100,000 claim on April 25, 1986. Philamlife denied the claim in a letter dated May 20, 1986, asserting that no application for group insurance had been submitted prior to Chuang's death and that, under the policy's provisions, there would be no insurance if the application was not approved by the company. Philamlife also stated that its acceptance of premiums did not connote approval of coverage but was held in trust until prerequisites for coverage were met.

Eternal filed a case for sum of money before the Makati City RTC. The trial court found that Eternal had submitted Chuang's application before his death, as evidenced by the December 29, 1982 letter, and that Philamlife's inaction from December 29, 1982 to Chuang's death on August 2, 1984, coupled with its acceptance of premiums, deemed Philamlife to have approved the application. The CA reversed, finding that Chuang's application was not enclosed in the December 29, 1982 letter and that the non-accomplishment of the application form violated Section 26 of the Insurance Code, concluding that Chuang was not covered by the policy.

Arguments of the Petitioners

  • Submission of Application: Petitioner argued that the evidence it presented before the trial court supports its contention that it submitted a copy of Chuang's insurance application before his death, pointing to the December 29, 1982 letter which stated that "Phil-Am Life Insurance Application Forms & Cert." were enclosed and was stamped as received by Philamlife.
  • Validity of Insurance Coverage: Petitioner maintained that it provided a copy of the insurance application signed by Chuang himself and executed before his death, and that Philamlife's inaction and acceptance of premiums constituted approval of the application.
  • Reversal of CA Decision: Petitioner argued that the CA erred in reversing and setting aside the RTC decision dated May 29, 1996.

Arguments of the Respondents

  • Insufficiency of Evidence: Respondent countered that the evidence presented by Eternal was insufficient, arguing that Eternal must present evidence showing that Philamlife actually received a copy of Chuang's insurance application.
  • Witness Credibility: Respondent argued that Eternal's witnesses lacked credibility and reliability due to inconsistencies in their testimonies, particularly regarding the location of the original insurance application and the number of application forms accomplished.
  • Policy Provisions: Respondent maintained that under the policy's "Effective Date of Benefit" provision, there would be no insurance if the application was not approved by the company, and that acceptance of premiums did not connote approval of coverage.

Issues

  • Submission of Application: Whether the application for insurance was duly submitted to respondent Philamlife before the death of John Chuang.
  • Validity of Insurance Coverage: Whether there was valid insurance coverage despite Philamlife's inaction on Chuang's application.
  • Reversal of RTC Decision: Whether the CA erred in reversing and setting aside the RTC decision.

Ruling

  • Submission of Application: Yes. The evidence on record supports Eternal's position that Chuang's insurance application was submitted before his death, as evidenced by Philamlife's own stamp of receipt on the December 29, 1982 transmittal letter, which constituted an admission against interest.

  • Validity of Insurance Coverage: Yes. The ambiguous policy provision on the effective date of benefit must be construed in favor of the insured as a contract of adhesion, and Philamlife's inaction on the application could not operate to prejudice the insured or terminate coverage.

  • Reversal of RTC Decision: Yes. The CA erred in reversing the RTC decision, as its factual findings were based on a misapprehension of facts and were contrary to the trial court's findings, warranting review by the Supreme Court.

Ruling Rationale

  • Submission of Application: The letter dated December 29, 1982, which Philamlife stamped as received, expressly stated that the insurance forms for the attached list of burial lot buyers were enclosed. Such stamp of receipt has the effect of acknowledging receipt of the letter together with its attachments, constituting an admission by Philamlife against its own interest. The burden of evidence shifted to Philamlife to prove that the letter did not contain Chuang's insurance application, which it failed to do. It was Philamlife's bounden duty to ensure that before a transmittal letter is stamped as received, the contents are correct and accounted for. The alleged inconsistencies in the testimonies of Eternal's witnesses were minor and did not affect their credibility, as minor inconsistencies may even strengthen credibility by negating suspicion of rehearsed testimony.

  • Validity of Insurance Coverage: The "Effective Date of Benefit" provision contained an ambiguity between its two sentences: the first stated that insurance became effective upon contracting a loan with Eternal, while the second required Philamlife's approval before coverage could become effective. As an insurance contract is a contract of adhesion, any ambiguity must be resolved against the insurer and liberally in favor of the insured. The conflicting provisions were harmonized to mean that upon a party's purchase of a memorial lot on installment, an insurance contract was created and remained effective until terminated by Philamlife through explicit disapproval of the application. The second sentence was in the nature of a resolutory condition. The insurer's mere inaction could not be interpreted as termination of the insurance contract; termination must be explicit and unambiguous. Insurance companies must act with haste upon applications, to either deny or approve the same, or otherwise be bound to honor the application as a valid, binding, and effective insurance contract.

  • Reversal of RTC Decision: The Supreme Court reviewed the factual findings because the CA's findings were contrary to those of the trial court, which is a recognized exception to the rule that the Court is not a trier of facts. The CA's finding that Chuang's application was not enclosed in the December 29, 1982 letter was based on a misapprehension of facts, as the stamped receipt on the letter constituted an admission of receipt of the attachments. The CA's reliance on Section 26 of the Insurance Code was misplaced, as the application had in fact been submitted before Chuang's death.

Doctrines

  • Contract of Adhesion in Insurance — An insurance contract, being a contract of adhesion par excellence, must be construed liberally in favor of the insured and strictly against the insurer. Any ambiguity in the policy should be resolved against the insurer, which has exclusive control over the terms and phraseology of the contract. Limitations of liability should be regarded with extreme jealousy and must be construed to preclude the insurer from noncompliance with its obligations. The Court applied this doctrine to the ambiguous "Effective Date of Benefit" provision, construing it in favor of coverage.

  • Insurer's Duty to Act on Applications — Insurance companies must be obligated to act with haste upon insurance applications, to either deny or approve the same, or otherwise be bound to honor the application as a valid, binding, and effective insurance contract. The mere inaction of the insurer on the insurance application must not work to prejudice the insured; it cannot be interpreted as a termination of the insurance contract. Termination must be explicit and unambiguous. The Court applied this principle by holding that Philamlife's failure to act on Chuang's application resulted in the insurance contract being valid and effective.

  • Resolutory Condition in Insurance Contracts — The provision stating that "there shall be no insurance if the application of the Lot Purchaser is not approved by the Company" was characterized as a resolutory condition, meaning the insurance contract was effective upon the lot purchaser's contracting of a loan with the assured, and would cease only upon the insurer's explicit disapproval of the application.

  • Admission Against Interest — A stamped receipt on a transmittal letter acknowledging receipt of the letter together with its attachments constitutes an admission against interest by the insurer, shifting the burden of evidence to the insurer to prove that the attachments were not in fact received.

  • Exceptions to the Rule on Conclusiveness of Factual Findings — The Supreme Court is not a trier of facts, but may review factual findings when the CA's findings are contrary to those of the trial court, among other enumerated exceptions.

Key Excerpts

  • "A contract of insurance, being a contract of adhesion, par excellence, any ambiguity therein should be resolved against the insurer; in other words, it should be construed liberally in favor of the insured and strictly against the insurer. Limitations of liability should be regarded with extreme jealousy and must be construed in such a way as to preclude the insurer from noncompliance with his obligations." — This passage articulates the controlling doctrine on construing ambiguous insurance policy provisions, forming the basis for the Court's interpretation of the "Effective Date of Benefit" provision in favor of the insured.

  • "The mere inaction of the insurer on the insurance application must not work to prejudice the insured; it cannot be interpreted as a termination of the insurance contract. The termination of the insurance contract by the insurer must be explicit and unambiguous." — This statement establishes the principle that insurer inaction cannot defeat coverage, and that termination requires explicit action, which is the ratio decidendi for holding Philamlife liable despite its failure to approve Chuang's application.

  • "[I]n order to protect the interest of insurance applicants, insurance companies must be obligated to act with haste upon insurance applications, to either deny or approve the same, or otherwise be bound to honor the application as a valid, binding, and effective insurance contract." — This passage states the Court's policy rationale imposing a duty on insurers to promptly act on applications, reinforcing the holding that inaction results in binding coverage.

Precedents Cited

  • Sampayan vs. Court of Appeals, G.R. No. 156360, January 14, 2005 — Cited for the enumerated exceptions to the rule that the Supreme Court is not a trier of facts and that factual findings of lower courts are conclusive and binding. The exception regarding findings of the CA being contrary to the trial court was applied to justify review.

  • Malayan Insurance Corporation vs. Court of Appeals, G.R. No. 119599, March 20, 1997 — Cited as controlling authority for the doctrine that insurance contracts of adhesion must be construed liberally in favor of the insured and strictly against the insurer.

  • Philamcare Health Systems, Inc. vs. Court of Appeals, G.R. No. 125678, March 18, 2002 — Cited to reiterate the doctrine on construing limitations on liability in insurance contracts against the insurer, emphasizing that ambiguity must be strictly interpreted against the insurer to avoid forfeiture.

  • People vs. Paredes, G.R. No. 136105, October 23, 2001 — Cited for the principle that minor inconsistencies in witness testimonies are too trivial to affect credibility and may even strengthen it by negating suspicion of rehearsed testimony.

  • Merencillo vs. People, G.R. Nos. 142369-70, April 13, 2007 — Cited to reiterate that minor discrepancies or inconsistencies do not impair the essential integrity of evidence, and the test is whether testimonies agree on essential facts and form a coherent whole.

  • People vs. Jaberto, G.R. No. 128147, May 12, 1999 and People vs. Oliquino, G.R. No. 171314, March 6, 2007 — Cited for the principle that the trial court is in the best position to determine the reliability and credibility of witnesses, and its findings are binding on appellate courts unless facts of weight and substance have been overlooked, misapprehended, or misinterpreted.

Provisions

  • Section 26, Rule 130, Rules of Court — Cited in connection with the principle that the stamped receipt on the transmittal letter constituted an admission against interest by Philamlife, acknowledging receipt of the letter together with its attachments.

  • Creditor Group Life Policy No. P-1920, "Effective Date of Benefit" provision — The provision stating that insurance of any eligible lot purchaser shall be effective on the date he contracts a loan with the assured, but that there shall be no insurance if the application is not approved by the company. The Court found this provision ambiguous and construed it in favor of the insured, characterizing the second sentence as a resolutory condition.

  • Creditor Group Life Policy No. P-1920, "Evidence of Insurability" provision — The provision requiring a declaration of good health for all lot purchasers as part of the application, and reserving the insurer's right to require further evidence of insurability for amounts exceeding ₱50,000 or for purchasers over 55 years of age. Philamlife relied on this provision to deny coverage, but the Court found that the application had been submitted before Chuang's death.

Notable Concurring Opinions

Carpio-Morales (Acting Chairperson), Tinga, Brion, and Chico-Nazario, JJ., concurred. No separate concurring opinions were noted.