AI-generated

American Home Assurance Company vs. Chua

The petition was partly granted and the Court of Appeals' decision was modified by deleting the awards for loss of profit, moral damages, and exemplary damages, and reducing attorney's fees from P50,000 to P10,000. The insurer remained liable for the P200,000 policy coverage because the insured's delivery of a check to the insurer's agent, who issued a renewal certificate acknowledging receipt of payment, constituted conclusive evidence of premium payment under Section 78 of the Insurance Code. The insurer was estopped from invoking the "other insurance" clause because its loss adjuster admitted prior knowledge of the co-insurers. No moral or exemplary damages were warranted because the insurer did not act fraudulently or in bad faith in resisting the claim.

Primary Holding

An acknowledgment in a policy or contract of insurance of the receipt of premium is conclusive evidence of its payment, making the policy binding notwithstanding any stipulation therein that it shall not be binding until the premium is actually paid, and this legal fiction of payment under Section 78 of the Insurance Code operates as an exception to the general rule in Section 77 that no policy is valid and binding until the premium is paid.

Background

Petitioner is a domestic corporation engaged in the insurance business. Respondent operated Moonlight Enterprises, a business located at Valencia, Bukidnon, whose stock-in-trade was insured against fire. In 1990, respondent obtained from petitioner a fire insurance policy due to expire on 25 March 1990, and sought renewal for the period 25 March 1990 to 25 March 1991, with coverage up to P200,000. The renewal was transacted through petitioner's agent, James Uy, who collected the premium by check and issued a renewal certificate.

History

  1. RTC, Makati City, Branch 150, Civil Case No. 91-1009

    Ruled in favor of respondent, ordering petitioner to pay P200,000 as insurance coverage, P200,000 as moral damages, P200,000 as loss of profit, P100,000 as exemplary damages, P50,000 as attorney's fees, and costs of suit.

  2. Court of Appeals, CA-G.R. CV No. 40751

    Affirmed in toto the RTC decision, finding respondent's claim substantially proved and petitioner's refusal unjustified.

  3. Jun 28, 1999

    Supreme Court, G.R. No. 130421

    Partly granted the petition, modifying the CA decision by deleting awards for loss of profit, moral damages, and exemplary damages, and reducing attorney's fees from P50,000 to P10,000.

Facts

Sometime in 1990, Antonio Chua obtained from American Home Assurance Company a fire insurance policy covering the stock-in-trade of his business, Moonlight Enterprises, located at Valencia, Bukidnon. The policy was due to expire on 25 March 1990. On 5 April 1990, Chua issued PCIBank Check No. 352123 in the amount of P2,983.50 to petitioner's agent, James Uy, as payment for renewal of the policy. In turn, Uy delivered Renewal Certificate No. 00099047 to Chua. The check was drawn against a Manila bank and deposited in petitioner's bank account in Cagayan de Oro City. The corresponding official receipt was issued on 10 April 1990. A new insurance policy, Policy No. 206-4234498-7, was thereafter issued, whereby petitioner undertook to indemnify Chua for any damage or loss arising from fire up to P200,000 for the period 25 March 1990 to 25 March 1991.

On 6 April 1990, one day after Chua delivered the check to the agent, Moonlight Enterprises was completely razed by fire, with total loss estimated between P4,000,000 and P5,000,000. Chua filed an insurance claim with petitioner and four other co-insurers, namely Pioneer Insurance and Surety Corporation, Prudential Guarantee and Assurance, Inc., Filipino Merchants Insurance Co., and Domestic Insurance Company of the Philippines. Petitioner refused to honor the claim notwithstanding several demands, prompting Chua to file an action before the trial court.

Petitioner defended on the ground that no insurance contract existed when the fire occurred because the premium had not been paid — the check had not yet been cleared. It also alleged that Chua violated policy conditions by submitting fraudulent income tax returns and financial statements, failing to establish the actual loss (which petitioner assessed at only P70,000), and failing to notify petitioner of other insurance already effected on the insured goods. The trial court found that Chua paid by check a day before the fire, that the check was honored when presented, and that petitioner's agent had acknowledged receipt of payment in the renewal certificate. As to the alleged fraudulent documents, the court found the issue limited to a disparity between BIR official receipts and income tax returns for 1987 to 1989, but gave credence to a BIR certification that Chua had paid the corresponding taxes for the questioned years. On the non-disclosure of other insurance, the trial court held that petitioner failed to show intentional or fraudulent omission, citing the testimony of petitioner's loss adjuster who admitted prior knowledge of the co-insurers. The other co-insurers, Pioneer Insurance and Surety Corporation and Prudential Guarantee and Assurance, Inc., had promptly paid Chua's claims.

Arguments of the Petitioners

  • Non-payment of Premium: Petitioner argued that no insurance contract existed when the fire occurred because the premium had not been paid. It invoked Section 77 of the Insurance Code, which provides that no policy is valid and binding unless and until the premium has been paid, and Article 1249 of the Civil Code, which recognizes that a check effects payment only when cashed. The check, drawn against a Manila bank and deposited in a Cagayan de Oro City bank, could not have been cleared by 6 April 1990, the date of the fire; the official receipt was dated 10 April 1990, four days after the fire.
  • Policy Violations: Petitioner contended that respondent's non-disclosure of other insurance contracts rendered the policy void, citing jurisprudence on the validity of the "other insurance clause." It also faulted the trial court for neglecting the Commission on Audit's certification that the BIR receipts submitted by respondent were issued to other persons.
  • Excessive Damages: Petitioner argued that the awards of moral damages, exemplary damages, loss of profit, and attorney's fees were excessive and unreasonable, considering that it did not act in bad faith in denying respondent's claim and that the policy was limited to P200,000 liability.

Arguments of the Respondents

  • Conclusive Factual Finding: Respondent countered that the issue of non-payment of premium is a question of fact which can no longer be assailed, the trial court's finding on the matter having been affirmed by the Court of Appeals and thus conclusive.
  • Valid Payment Through Agent: Respondent argued that under Section 306 of the Insurance Code, delivery of a policy to an agent authorizes the agent to receive premium payment. The renewal certificate acknowledged receipt of payment, and at that moment the contract was executed and already in effect. He also claimed it was standard operating procedure in the provinces to pay insurance premiums by check when collected by agents.
  • Estoppel on Other Insurance: Respondent refuted petitioner's basis for denial, citing that petitioner's loss adjuster admitted prior knowledge of the existing insurance contracts with other companies, yet did not recommend denial on that ground but only on suspicion of spurious documents.
  • Reasonable Damages: Respondent maintained that the amounts awarded were reasonable, citing numerous trips from Cagayan de Oro City to Manila to follow up his claim and imputing bad faith on petitioner, who made enforcement difficult in the hope that he would abandon it. He emphasized that the adjusters of the other insurance companies recommended payment and complied.

Issues

  • Payment of Premium: Whether there was a valid payment of premium, considering that respondent's check was cashed after the occurrence of the fire.
  • Policy Violations: Whether respondent violated the policy by his submission of fraudulent documents and non-disclosure of the other existing insurance contracts.
  • Damages: Whether respondent is entitled to the award of damages.

Ruling

  • Payment of Premium: Yes. The premium was validly paid. An acknowledgment in a policy or contract of insurance of the receipt of premium is conclusive evidence of its payment under Section 78 of the Insurance Code, making the policy binding notwithstanding any stipulation to the contrary.
  • Policy Violations: No. Respondent did not violate the policy. Petitioner was estopped from invoking the "other insurance" clause because its loss adjuster admitted prior knowledge of the co-insurers, and the alleged fraudulent documents were rebutted by a BIR certification.
  • Damages: Partly. Respondent is entitled to the P200,000 insurance coverage but not to loss of profit, moral damages, or exemplary damages, as petitioner did not act in fraud or bad faith. Attorney's fees were reduced to P10,000 as the more reasonable amount.

Ruling Rationale

  • Payment of Premium: The general rule under Section 77 of the Insurance Code is that no policy is valid and binding until the premium is paid, with exceptions only for life and industrial life insurance. However, Section 78 establishes a legal fiction of payment: an acknowledgment in a policy or contract of insurance of the receipt of premium is conclusive evidence of its payment, making the policy binding notwithstanding any stipulation that it shall not be binding until the premium is actually paid. This is an exception to Section 77. The trial court found, as affirmed by the Court of Appeals, that respondent delivered a check to petitioner's agent, who issued a renewal certificate acknowledging receipt of payment. Under Section 306, delivery of a policy to an agent authorizes the agent to receive premium payment. The check was honored when presented, and petitioner issued an official receipt. The factual findings of the trial court, affirmed by the Court of Appeals, are entitled to great weight and respect and will not be disturbed on appeal absent a clear showing of overlooked facts.

  • Policy Violations: On the alleged fraudulent documents, the issue pertained to income tax returns for 1987 to 1989. Respondent presented a BIR certification that he had paid the proper taxes for those years, and the trial court and Court of Appeals gave credence to that certification; this factual finding is conclusive. On the non-disclosure of other insurance, while the "other insurance clause" is valid and its purpose is to prevent moral hazard, petitioner is estopped from invoking it. The trial court cited the testimony of petitioner's loss adjuster, who admitted prior knowledge of the co-insurers yet did not recommend denial on that basis. The loss adjuster, being petitioner's employee, is deemed its representative whose awareness binds petitioner. The trial court's application of Section 29 (concealment) was misplaced; the relevant provision is Section 75, which provides that a policy may declare that violation of specified provisions shall avoid it. Because petitioner already knew of the other insurance, there was no deception by respondent.

  • Damages: The award of P200,000 for the insurance coverage was proper. However, the P200,000 for loss of profit had no legal or factual basis because the fire totally gutted respondent's business, and petitioner's obligation is limited to the stock-in-trade, not expected loss of income. Moral damages under Article 2220 of the Civil Code require fraud or bad faith in breach of contract, which was not shown; petitioner merely resisted what it believed to be an unfounded claim. Exemplary damages under Article 2232 require wanton, fraudulent, reckless, oppressive, or malevolent conduct, none of which was attributable to petitioner. Attorney's fees are the exception rather than the rule under Article 2208; while the trial court's discretion is respected, the P50,000 award was excessive and was reduced to P10,000.

Doctrines

  • Legal Fiction of Payment (Section 78, Insurance Code) — An acknowledgment in a policy or contract of insurance of the receipt of premium is conclusive evidence of its payment, so far as to make the policy binding, notwithstanding any stipulation therein that it shall not be binding until the premium is actually paid. This constitutes a legal fiction of payment and operates as an exception to Section 77's general rule that no policy is valid and binding until the premium is paid. The Court applied this doctrine to hold that the renewal certificate's acknowledgment of receipt of payment made the policy binding, even though the check had not yet been cleared when the fire occurred.

  • Authority of Insurance Agent to Receive Premium (Section 306, Insurance Code) — Any insurance company which delivers a policy or contract of insurance to an insurance agent or insurance broker is deemed to have authorized such agent or broker to receive on its behalf payment of any premium due on such policy at the time of its issuance or delivery or which becomes due thereon. The Court applied this to establish that petitioner's agent was authorized to receive respondent's check payment, and that petitioner was bound by its agent's acknowledgment of receipt.

  • Other Insurance Clause and Estoppel — A condition in fire insurance policies requiring disclosure of existing co-insurers, the purpose of which is to prevent moral hazard. Non-disclosure ordinarily entitles the insurer to avoid the policy. However, the insurer is estopped from invoking the clause if it had prior knowledge of the other insurance through its agent or employee, as the insurer cannot claim deception by the insured's non-disclosure when it already possessed the information. The Court applied this by holding that petitioner's loss adjuster's admitted knowledge of the co-insurers bound petitioner and precluded it from asserting non-disclosure as a ground for avoidance.

  • Damages in Breach of Contract — Moral damages may be awarded in breach of contract only where the defendant acted fraudulently or in bad faith (Article 2220, Civil Code). Exemplary damages in contracts require wanton, fraudulent, reckless, oppressive, or malevolent conduct (Article 2232, Civil Code). Attorney's fees are the exception rather than the rule and must be reasonable (Article 2208, Civil Code). The Court applied these provisions to delete the awards for moral and exemplary damages and to reduce attorney's fees, finding that petitioner merely resisted an unfounded claim without fraud or bad faith.

Key Excerpts

  • "An acknowledgment in a policy or contract of insurance of the receipt of premium is conclusive evidence of its payment, so far as to make the policy binding, notwithstanding any stipulation therein that it shall not be binding until the premium is actually paid." — This passage states the Court's application of Section 78 of the Insurance Code, establishing the legal fiction of payment as an exception to Section 77 and forming the ratio decidendi for the premium payment issue.

  • "Indubitably, it cannot be said that petitioner was deceived by respondent by the latter's non-disclosure of the other insurance contracts when petitioner actually had prior knowledge thereof." — This articulates the estoppel principle applied to the "other insurance" clause, holding that an insurer with prior knowledge of co-insurers through its agent cannot invoke non-disclosure to avoid the policy.

  • "Moral damages are emphatically not intended to enrich a plaintiff at the expense of the defendant. Such damages are awarded only to enable the injured party to obtain means, diversion or amusements that will serve to obviate the moral suffering he has undergone, by reason of the defendant's culpable action." — This defines the purpose and limitation of moral damages, frequently cited in subsequent jurisprudence on the proper measure and rationale of such awards.

Precedents Cited

  • Arce vs. Capital Insurance & Surety Co., Inc., 117 SCRA 63 (1982) — Cited by petitioner for the proposition that unless and until the premium is paid there is no insurance. The Court effectively distinguished this case through the application of Section 78, which creates a legal fiction of payment when the policy acknowledges receipt of premium.
  • Geagonia vs. Court of Appeals, 241 SCRA 152 (1995) — Cited for the validity of the "other insurance clause" and the principle that non-disclosure of other insurance entitles the insurer to avoid the policy. The Court recognized an exception where the insurer had prior knowledge of the co-insurers through its agent.
  • Malayan Insurance Co. vs. Amaldo, 154 SCRA 672 (1987) — Cited for the principle under Section 306 of the Insurance Code that delivery of a policy to an agent authorizes the agent to receive premium payment on the insurer's behalf.

Provisions

  • Section 77, Insurance Code — Provides that no policy or contract of insurance is valid and binding unless and until the premium has been paid, except in the case of life or industrial life policies. Recognized as the general rule, with Section 78 identified as its exception.
  • Section 78, Insurance Code — Provides that an acknowledgment in a policy or contract of insurance of the receipt of premium is conclusive evidence of its payment, making the policy binding notwithstanding any stipulation to the contrary. Applied to hold that the renewal certificate's acknowledgment of payment made the policy binding even though the check had not yet been cleared.
  • Section 306, Insurance Code — Deems an insurance company to have authorized its agent to receive premium payment upon delivery of the policy to the agent. Applied to establish that petitioner's agent was authorized to receive respondent's check payment.
  • Section 75, Insurance Code — Provides that a policy may declare that a violation of specified provisions shall avoid it; otherwise, the breach of an immaterial provision does not avoid the policy. Identified as the relevant provision for the "other insurance" issue, in lieu of Section 29 which the trial court had misapplied.
  • Article 1249, Civil Code — Provides that delivery of bills of exchange or other mercantile documents produces the effect of payment only when cashed. Cited by petitioner but effectively overridden by Section 78's legal fiction of payment.
  • Article 2220, Civil Code — Allows moral damages in breach of contract where the defendant acted fraudulently or in bad faith. Applied to deny moral damages because no fraud or bad faith was shown.
  • Article 2232, Civil Code — Allows exemplary damages in contracts where the defendant acted in a wanton, fraudulent, reckless, oppressive, or malevolent manner. Applied to deny exemplary damages.
  • Article 2208, Civil Code — Enumerates cases where attorney's fees may be awarded and requires that they be reasonable. Applied to reduce the award from P50,000 to P10,000.

Notable Concurring Opinions

Melo, Kapunan, Pardo, and Santiago, JJ., concurred.