AI-generated

AFP Mutual Benefit Association, Inc. vs. NLRC

The petition was granted and the assailed NLRC resolution was set aside for lack of jurisdiction. Private respondent Eutiquio Bustamante, an insurance underwriter of petitioner AFP Mutual Benefit Association, Inc. since 1975, was dismissed in 1989 and thereafter sought payment of accrued commissions before the Department of Labor. The labor arbiter and the NLRC upheld jurisdiction, finding that the exclusivity requirement, company policies, and territorial assignments in the Sales Agent's Agreement signaled employer control. The Supreme Court reversed, holding that these factors did not constitute the control contemplated under the four-fold test, as the exclusivity restriction derived from Insurance Commission regulations and the agent remained free to determine his own methods and schedule. Absent an employer-employee relationship, the claim for unpaid commissions should have been litigated in an ordinary civil action, rendering the labor arbiter's award a nullity.

Primary Holding

An insurance sales agent who is contracted as an independent contractor and who retains control over the method and manner of soliciting insurance is not an employee of the insurance company, and claims for unpaid commissions by such an agent fall outside the jurisdiction of labor arbiters and the NLRC, which is limited to disputes arising out of or in connection with an employer-employee relationship.

Background

Petitioner AFP Mutual Benefit Association, Inc. is an insurance company that engaged private respondent Eutiquio Bustamante as an insurance underwriter beginning in 1975 under a Sales Agent's Agreement. The Agreement expressly stipulated that no employer-employee relationship existed between the parties and that the sales agent was deemed an independent contractor. Compensation was by way of commissions on premiums actually received, computed at graduated percentages over a ten-year period. The insurance industry is subject to regulation by the Insurance Commissioner, who had issued Memorandum Circulars No. 2-81 and 2-85 barring insurance agents from serving more than one insurance company, a regulatory backdrop central to the jurisdictional dispute that followed.

History

1990 – 1997
  1. Private respondent initially filed a complaint with the Office of the Insurance Commissioner, which advised him that the Department of Labor and Employment had jurisdiction.

  2. Feb 26, 1990

    On February 26, 1990, private respondent filed a complaint with the Department of Labor claiming unpaid commissions, moral damages, and exemplary damages.

  3. 5 mos 29 days later
  4. Aug 24, 1990

    Labor Arbiter Jose G. de Vera, on August 24, 1990, upheld the dismissal as valid but ordered petitioner to pay P319,796.00 in commissions plus attorney's fees, finding an employer-employee relationship based on control elements in the Sales Agent's Agreement.

  5. 1 yr 1 mo later
  6. Sep 27, 1991

    The NLRC Second Division, on September 27, 1991, affirmed the labor arbiter's decision, finding no reason to disturb the ruling.

  7. 5 yrs 4 mos later
  8. Jan 28, 1997

    The Supreme Court, on January 28, 1997, granted the petition and set aside the NLRC resolution, holding that no employer-employee relationship existed and that the labor arbiter and NLRC lacked jurisdiction.

Facts

Private respondent Eutiquio Bustamante had been an insurance underwriter of petitioner AFP Mutual Benefit Association, Inc. since 1975. Their relationship was governed by a Sales Agent's Agreement which obligated Bustamante to solicit exclusively for petitioner, to be bound by company policies, memo circulars, rules, and regulations, and to confine his business activities within military camps and installations. The Agreement further provided that petitioner could assign him a specific area of responsibility and a production quota. It expressly stipulated that no employer-employee relationship existed between the parties, the sales agent being deemed an independent contractor. As compensation, Bustamante received commissions computed at graduated percentages of premiums paid: thirty percent in the first year, ten percent in the second, five percent in the third, three percent in the fourth, and one percent from the fifth through the tenth year.

On July 5, 1989, petitioner dismissed Bustamante for misrepresentation and for simultaneously selling insurance for another life insurance company in violation of the Agreement. At the time of dismissal, Bustamante was entitled to accrued commissions equivalent to twenty-four months. An account summary approved by petitioner's president, Retired Brig. Gen. Rosalino Alquiza, showed total commissions receivable of P438,835.00, of which only P78,039.89 had been paid. Bustamante wrote petitioner seeking release of his commissions, and petitioner's Marketing Manager Juan Concepcion replied that he was entitled to only P75,000.00 to P100,000.00. Relying on Concepcion's computations, Bustamante signed a quitclaim.

Sometime in October 1989, Bustamante was informed that his check was ready. Upon collecting it, he discovered from an attached account summary that his total commissions for the twenty-four months actually amounted to P354,796.09, but he was paid only P35,000.00. On November 23, 1989, he filed a complaint with the Office of the Insurance Commissioner, which advised him that the Department of Labor and Employment had jurisdiction. On February 26, 1990, he filed a complaint with the Department of Labor, claiming commission for two years from termination, P354,796.00 in commissions earned from renewals and old business since 1983, P100,000.00 in moral damages, and P100,000.00 in exemplary damages.

After submission of position papers, Labor Arbiter Jose G. de Vera rendered a decision on August 24, 1990, declaring Bustamante's dismissal valid and denying separation pay, but ordering petitioner to pay P319,796.00 in commissions plus P31,976.60 in attorney's fees. The labor arbiter relied on the Agreement's proviso allowing petitioner to assign Bustamante a specific area and production quota, reading it as signaling the existence of an employer-employee relationship. On appeal, the NLRC Second Division affirmed the labor arbiter's decision, finding no reason to disturb the ruling. Petitioner had consistently challenged the jurisdiction of the labor arbiter and the NLRC throughout the proceedings below.

Arguments of the Petitioners

  • Absence of Employer-Employee Relationship: Petitioner argued that, despite provisions B(1) and B(2) of the Sales Agent's Agreement, no employer-employee relationship existed between it and private respondent, as the Agreement expressly designated the sales agent as an independent contractor.
  • Lack of Jurisdiction: Petitioner contended that the NLRC gravely abused its discretion in holding that the labor arbiter had jurisdiction over the case, since the claim for unpaid commissions by an independent contractor should be litigated in an ordinary civil action.
  • Nature of Control: Petitioner maintained that the exclusivity requirement, company policies, and territorial assignments cited by the labor arbiter and NLRC did not constitute the kind of control that establishes employment, as the exclusivity restriction derived from Insurance Commission regulations, and the policies referred to pertained only to payment of agents' accountabilities, cash advances, incentives, and other matters concerning the selling of insurance — not to employee conduct, work standards, or performance appraisals.
  • Agent's Freedom: Petitioner asserted that private respondent was free to sell insurance at any time, was not subject to definite hours or conditions of work, was not required to report to the office regularly, was not covered by employee policies or disciplinary rules, and had complete control over his occupation.

Arguments of the Respondents

  • Existence of Control: Respondent NLRC concurred with the labor arbiter's finding that the requirement to solicit exclusively for petitioner and to follow company policies, memo circulars, rules, and regulations showed that petitioner had control or reserved the right to control Bustamante's work as solicitor.
  • Territorial Assignment and Production Quota: Respondent Commission found that the Sales Agent's Agreement's provision allowing petitioner to assign Bustamante a specific area of responsibility and a production quota indicated exercise of control, which it identified as the most important element in determining employer-employee relationship.
  • Necessity of Work: Respondent Commission found that Bustamante's job as sales insurance agent was necessary and desirable in the usual business of petitioner, and that he was not an independent contractor because he did not carry on an independent business other than that of the company.

Issues

  • Employer-Employee Relationship: Whether an employer-employee relationship existed between petitioner AFP Mutual Benefit Association, Inc. and private respondent Eutiquio Bustamante under the four-fold test, particularly the element of control.
  • Jurisdiction of Labor Arbiter and NLRC: Whether the labor arbiter and the NLRC had jurisdiction over private respondent's claim for unpaid commissions in the absence of an employer-employee relationship.

Ruling

  • Employer-Employee Relationship: No. No employer-employee relationship existed because the factors cited by the NLRC — exclusivity, company policies, and territorial assignments — did not constitute the control contemplated under the four-fold test, as the agent retained freedom over the method and manner of soliciting insurance.
  • Jurisdiction of Labor Arbiter and NLRC: No. The labor arbiter and the NLRC lacked jurisdiction, Article 217 of the Labor Code requiring an employer-employee relationship as the unifying element for their jurisdictional grant; the claim should have been litigated in an ordinary civil action.

Ruling Rationale

  • Employer-Employee Relationship: The Court applied the four-fold test — (1) power to hire, (2) payment of wages, (3) power to dismiss, and (4) power to control — with control being the most important element. The NLRC found control in three features: the exclusivity requirement, the obligation to follow company policies and rules, and the power to assign territorial areas and production quotas. The Court held that each was misappreciated. The exclusivity restriction did not spring from an intention to control the method and manner of work but from Memorandum Circulars No. 2-81 and 2-85 issued by the Insurance Commissioner, which barred insurance agents from serving more than one insurance company to protect the public and enable companies to supervise their agents' solicitation work. The company policies, memo circulars, and rules referred to in the Agreement pertained only to payment of agents' accountabilities, cash advances, incentives, and awards based on production — matters concerning the selling of insurance in accordance with Insurance Commission rules — and did not cover employee conduct, work standards, performance appraisals, merit increases, promotions, attendance, leaves, or employee benefits. Private respondent failed to rebut these allegations, which were thus deemed admitted. As to territorial assignments, private respondent likewise failed to rebut petitioner's assertion that no territorial assignment had ever been issued. The Court drew upon Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. vs. NLRC, which distinguished between rules that merely serve as guidelines toward achieving a mutually desired result without dictating means or methods, and those that control or fix the methodology. The former create no employer-employee relationship; the latter do. Because Bustamante was free to sell insurance at his own chosen time, was not subject to definite hours, was not required to report to the office regularly, was not covered by employee policies or disciplinary rules, and was compensated according to the result of his efforts, the juridical element of control was absent. The test for independent contractorship — whether one has contracted to do the work according to his own methods without being subject to the employer's control except as to the result — was satisfied.

  • Jurisdiction of Labor Arbiter and NLRC: Article 217 of the Labor Code confers jurisdiction on labor arbiters and the NLRC over cases involving workers, but the unifying element running through all its paragraphs is the consistent reference to disputes arising out of or in connection with an employer-employee relationship. Prior to its amendment by Batas Pambansa Blg. 227, the article expressly included "all other cases arising from employer-employee relation unless expressly excluded by this Code." Without this critical element, the labor arbiter and the NLRC cannot acquire jurisdiction. The labor arbiter's assumption of jurisdiction and the NLRC's affirmance were serious error. Lack of jurisdiction may be raised at any stage of the proceedings, even on appeal, and the doctrine of estoppel cannot confer jurisdiction upon a tribunal that was bereft of it from the outset. Petitioner had consistently challenged jurisdiction below. A void judgment for want of jurisdiction is no judgment at all — it cannot be the source of any right or the creator of any obligation, and all acts performed pursuant to it have no legal effect. The ruling was without prejudice to Bustamante's right to file a collection suit in the proper forum within the proper period.

Doctrines

  • Four-Fold Test for Employer-Employee Relationship — The existence of an employer-employee relationship is determined by four elements: (1) the power to hire, (2) the payment of wages, (3) the power to dismiss, and (4) the power to control, the last being the most important. The "control" referred to is the supervisory authority to control the method and the details of performance of the service, not merely the right to demand a particular result. In this case, the Court found that the exclusivity requirement, company policies, and territorial assignments cited by the NLRC did not amount to control over the method and manner of soliciting insurance, as the agent was free to devise his own selling methods and sell at his own time and convenience.

  • Independent Contractorship Test — One is an independent contractor if he has contracted to do the work according to his own methods and without being subject to the control of the employer except only as to the result of the work. The presence of the power of control is indicative of an employment relationship; its absence is indicative of independent contractorship. The Court applied this test to hold that Bustamante, who retained complete control over his occupation and methods, was an independent contractor.

  • Distinction Between Result-Guiding Rules and Method-Controlling Rules — Rules that merely serve as guidelines toward the achievement of a mutually desired result without dictating the means or methods to be employed create no employer-employee relationship, unlike rules that control or fix the methodology and bind the party hired to the use of such means. This distinction is particularly relevant in enterprises affected with public interest, such as insurance, where state regulation necessitates companies to promulgate rules guiding commission agents in selling policies without invading the agent's contractual prerogative to adopt his own selling methods. The Court adopted this framework from Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. vs. NLRC.

  • Jurisdiction of Labor Arbiters and NLRC Requires Employer-Employee Relationship — The jurisdiction of labor arbiters and the NLRC under Article 217 of the Labor Code is limited to cases arising out of or in connection with an employer-employee relationship. Without this element, they cannot acquire jurisdiction over a dispute. Lack of jurisdiction may be raised at any stage of the proceedings, and estoppel cannot confer jurisdiction upon a tribunal that was bereft of it from the outset. A void judgment for want of jurisdiction is no judgment at all and can never become final.

Key Excerpts

  • "The significant factor in determining the relationship of the parties is the presence or absence of supervisory authority to control the method and the details of performance of the service being rendered, and the degree to which the principal may intervene to exercise such control." — This passage articulates the core of the control test as applied to the distinction between employee and independent contractor, defining what kind of control is legally significant for establishing an employment relationship.

  • "Logically, the line should be drawn between rules that merely serve as guidelines towards the achievement of the mutually desired result without dictating the means or methods to be employed in attaining it, and those that control or fix the methodology and bind or restrict the party hired to the use of such means." — Quoted from Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. vs. NLRC, this formulation distinguishes result-guiding rules from method-controlling rules and is the canonical statement of the principle applied to insurance agents and other regulated industries.

  • "Without this critical element of employment relationship, the labor arbiter and respondent Commission can never acquire jurisdiction over a dispute." — This sentence states the ratio decidendi on jurisdiction: the employer-employee relationship is the indispensable jurisdictional predicate for labor arbiter and NLRC authority under Article 217 of the Labor Code.

  • "A void judgment for want of jurisdiction is no judgment at all. It cannot be the source of any right nor the creator of any obligation. All acts performed pursuant to it and all claims emanating from it have no legal effect. Hence, it can never become final." — This passage defines the legal consequences of a judgment rendered without jurisdiction, reinforcing the principle that jurisdictional defects cannot be cured by estoppel, passage of time, or procedural default.

Precedents Cited

  • Insular Life Assurance Co., Ltd. vs. NLRC, 179 SCRA 459 (1989) — Controlling precedent followed. The Court adopted its distinction between rules that guide toward a result without dictating means and rules that fix methodology, applying it to hold that the insurance company's rules did not establish control over the agent's methods. The Court also relied on this case for the proposition that a commission agent's claim should be litigated in an ordinary civil action.
  • Investment Planning Corp. of the Phil. vs. Social Security System, 21 SCRA 924 (1967) — Followed for the formulation of the independent contractorship test: whether one has contracted to do the work according to his own methods without being subject to the employer's control except as to the result.
  • San Miguel Corporation vs. National Labor Relations Commission, 161 SCRA 719 (1988) — Cited for the pre-amendment text of Article 217 of the Labor Code, which expressly included "all other cases arising from employer-employee relation unless expressly excluded by this Code," underscoring the employer-employee relationship as the jurisdictional basis.
  • North Davao Mining Corporation vs. National Labor Relations Commission, 254 SCRA 721 (1996) — Cited for the doctrine that findings of employer-employee relationship by the labor arbiter and NLRC are accorded respect and even finality when supported by substantial evidence, but cannot bind the Court absent such evidence.

Provisions

  • Article 217, Labor Code — Defines the jurisdiction of labor arbiters and the NLRC. The Court held that the unifying element running through all paragraphs of Article 217 is the consistent reference to cases or disputes arising out of or in connection with an employer-employee relationship. Absent this element, the labor arbiter and NLRC have no jurisdiction. The pre-amendment version (prior to Batas Pambansa Blg. 227) expressly included "all other cases arising from employer-employee relation unless expressly excluded by this Code," making the jurisdictional requirement even clearer.
  • Memorandum Circular No. 2-81, Insurance Commission — Bars any person from being licensed as an insurance agent of more than one life insurance company. The Court held that the exclusivity requirement in the Sales Agent's Agreement derived from this regulation, not from an intention by petitioner to control the method and manner of Bustamante's work, and therefore did not establish employer control.
  • Memorandum Circular No. 2-85, Insurance Commission — Similarly regulates the licensing of insurance agents. Cited together with Memo Circular No. 2-81 to establish that the exclusivity restriction was regulatory in origin.

Notable Concurring Opinions

Narvasa, C.J., Davide, Jr., Melo, and Francisco, JJ., concurred.